The Whole World Is Festering

The Whole World Is Festering
With Unhappy Souls

 

I like Facebook as a communication device: it keeps me in touch with friends and family to a great degree, and because I have started a few groups, and belong to a few more, that pertain to things that interest me, or general news feeds, it also keeps me informed about important current events.

 

It seems to me though, that a lot of people are, at the very least, unhappy about an awful lot of things, and it also seems that they think that posting about it on Facebook is SOMEHOW going to solve the problem. You’ve seen the “Share this if you …..”  post  so many times, that it’s ( at least to me ) beating a dead horse. Or the Liberal or Conservative groups that post sound bites out of context or exaggerations of something an opponent has said, in order to stir up emotions in their followers. This is, at best, preaching to the choir, and why they are preaching is a total mystery to me. Do they actually think they will change someone’s mind about something that way?

 

In my life, I’ve been quite active in regards to things that I personally believe in:
In the 60s and 70s, I was active (and was even arrested once)  in anti-Vietnam War protests, I demonstrated for racial equality because of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. More recently, I actually worked for President Obama’s election campaign. I actually did something. It may have been a small thing, in comparison to what others did, but still. I DID something.

I’m not, in any way, trying to toot my own horn here. All I’m saying is if you are dissatisfied with things as they currently exist, if you think that there are injustices that need rectification, posting a picture from Someecards that somehow addresses  the subject is a tortal waste of time.

“It’s useless to hold a person to anything he says while he’s in love, drunk, or running for office.”
Shirley MacLaine

Leave a Reply

